So what does my profile look like?

To help me get a feel for  how competitive my profile was for the two schools I used Aringo’s odds calculator. As the main driver is your GMAT score, let say I done poorly.

So here’s my take on my profile based the following criteria: academic prowess, work achievements, community involvement, fit. I’ve developed a five point scale: Excellent, Good, Ok, Weak, Poor.

odds 1

As you may have noticed I’ve not given my profile excellent in any category, but on the other hand it doesn’t have poor either.

Academic prowess

In terms of qualifications.  I have a good undergrad degree in a technical subject. Downside I didn’t go to Oxbridge. But to make up for that I have a Masters in a quant subject from good university which is seen as a leading institution in the field I studied in.
GMAT score is low. Upside I’m reasonably confident that both Duke and Harvard have accepted people with the same GMAT score as me. My risk is that they take one look at my quant score and throw the application straight into the reject pile. To mitigate against this I have provided a factual response in the optional essay.

Work achievements
The most interesting part of my work profile is my public sector experience. I’ve tried to highlight the diversity in both my CV (resume) and essays. I’ve also tried to focus on my technical abilities.
As I have bit more work experience than most applicants I have wealth of experiences to draw on.
Community involvement
I have long-term community involvement in both my church and hockey club. However I have limited evidence of this though from my uni days. So if they need to see university club leadership positions my profile has a definite weakness.

Fit
I have officially no idea what the admissions committee will think of my profile in this area. I believe I could fit into both business school cultures hence I applied. I’ve done my homework and I hope it shows. However this is very difficult to judge and very much in the hands of the admissions committee.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

Croyview

Travel writing, exploring near and further afield. With the odd extra book or theatre review

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares news about TED Talks and TED Conferences.

digiphile

"We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet."

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel Aktas

Professor at Cranfield University

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school