ohhh I have exam stress

Oh! This is embarrassing the first time in my life I have exam stress/anxiety.  I was one of the lucky ones at school and university who didn’t really suffer. As long as I attended class, handed in my homework and revised before an exam I was fine.

But, No this time, revising for an exam has gotten to me.

I’m due to sit my GMAT on the 10th June. It’s still far enough away that I can study and improve my score, it also close enough for me to get stressed.

I mean what happens if I fail? Well, as I have to remind myself-nothing.  If I don’t get the score I need to apply to business school, well I’il get annoyed at myself, and then pay another $250 to sit the test again.  I have plenty of time to resit-I can do it after 30 days and still apply in the first round to the business schools, or I can even wait and study for longer and apply for the second round if necessary.  GULP.

Being truthful I don’t want to resit the test at all.  I would rather take longer to sit the test to ensure I get it right and sit it once.

So your asking what is my ideal score,minimum over 600.  I need over 600 just apply to business school.  My tutor thinks I can achieve mid 600’s.  I can’t tell you have relieved I was when I heard that (and yes that’s another story.)

So I’m on track to achieve my goal…I just need to focus and work hard and practice those exam questions.  And now I’m stressed! This does not do my studying/revising any favours.

So why am I stressed? let me see:

  • Work is busy and I’ve hardly taken any holiday.
  • I work or study (ie limited social life)
  • Hockey season has ended (ie I’m not playing sport).

So what are the solutions?

  • Tell someone; For me this included my boss, and some of my close friends and a trip to the doctor.
  • Undertake some selfcare! Below is essentially a list of possible ways.
  • Take holiday-I’m having a week off work.
  • Relax! for me this means reading some trashy books and watching bad TV.
  • Take a break from studying. So far I’ve lasted 52 hours. Though since I’m seeing my tutor on Saturday guess it means I will be studying tomorrow.
  • Get a social life.  Wednesday nights are now my new social night.
  • Sport/excercise; mmm…need to do that.  Looks, like I will be digging out my running shoes. I’ve just got my new bike fixed, so that’s another option.  Will let you know how I do on that score.
  • Feel less guilty when I don’t study (work in progress).
  • Realise that this is temporary-exam is on the 10th June and then it will all be over.
  • The exam doesn’t matter in the long run.
  • The GMAT is just one of the hoops I need to jump through and all the admission tutors say a great GMAT doesn’t guarantee admission and a score in the mid 600’s doesn’t preclude you either.

Anyone got any hint or tips/ or been through something similar?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

Road To My MBA

The journey to a top mba school, from Brazil to the USA.

GNPTH

My GMAT/MBA Journey

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

National Media Museum blog

We explore the science, technology and art of the still and moving image, and its impact on our lives.

digiphile

We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet.

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel's Blog

Problems have solutions.

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

the urban pastor

news, views and reviews from south London's finest suburb!

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

mbasupplicant

from point a to point mba

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

mbaloan

Loans and MBA...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school

