Arrrgh! Deadlines and Fulbright

I’m swamped. I’m trying to polish two Fulbright essays, study for the GMAT, work and have a social life. There is just not enough hours in the day.

Essay editing/polishing for Fulbright is taking up a substantial period of my waking and sleeping hours.

GMAT study has radically reduced, evening sessions are no more. And with later nighters on Fulbright my early study sessions have gone out the window.

My friends have been kind enough to pull apart my essays so I can rebuild them. My beer tab is starting to add up.

I’il be honest I will be pushing myself to the limit to get Fulbright handed in on on Thursday at a quality I’m happy with.

Wish me luck. And a prayer or two might help as well.

Tags: ,

15 responses to “Arrrgh! Deadlines and Fulbright”

  1. Lucas says :

    Good luck!

    • sarahrs81 says :

      Thanks. How you getting with applying for business school.

      • Lucas says :

        I’m pretty much in the waiting game. Received interview invites from a certain well-regarded business school in Boston, and one from another almost as well regarded business school in Philadelphia, so busy preparing for interviews and aiming not to blow those. For Tuck, I interviewed on campus, so the first real feedback I will have will be on decision-day itself. Waiting on two more schools to release their interview decisions.

        Nothing, honestly, makes writing business school essays easier. That being said, there is some overlap among some of them, so you can to a certain extent recycle bits and pieces here and there. I would advise against recycling entire essays, though — I used sentences or ideas, but generally wrote each from scratch in order to avoid the dreaded risk of “mixing up essays” and also to ensure that each essay was tailored to the school, based off campus visits, discussions with alumni, and current students.

      • sarahrs81 says :

        Good point about not doing a copy and paste job on the essays. Upside of the doing the essays is that I’ve now identified my brand and started to relearn how to sell myself.

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. domotron says :

    Best of luck. Originally, I intended to apply for Fulbright but I was far too busy making sure my Tuck application was fit for purpose. In the end I just didn’t have enough time and gave up on my Fulbright app.

  3. Timbob says :

    Did you get your application for Fulbright away in the end? I had a panicked visit to HR on Thursday asking if they had a copy of my passport on file (as I’d overlooked it) – thankfully they did and I got my pack away on time for the deadline!

    • sarahrs81 says :

      Got it in today at lunch time. Had a brief panic last night when when I found out I couldn’t even submit the hard copy until my references had been submitted. Then the black cab driver struggled to find the business park.

      • Timbob says :

        I don’t know about you, but even compared to some of the worst organised business schools I found the application process confusing and difficult to navigate. I suppose you have to make allowances for the fact that it has to cater to MBAs as well as Research Postgrads and everything in between, but I still felt it could be a bit better explained!
        My application was rushed and after submitting I’m not expecting much to come of it.

  4. sarahrs81 says :

    I hoping due to the amount of work I put it, it at least gets seriously considered.

    Application was OK, but its the little things I struggled with. I had to phone to find out the word limit, and whether I should print off the applicant copy to hand in.

  5. สัมภาษณ์ BE says :

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out.

    Please let me know where you got your design.
    With thanks

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog - November 15, 2013
  2. Fulbright post project review | sarah's mba journey - November 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

Road To My MBA

The journey to a top mba school, from Brazil to the USA.

GNPTH

My GMAT/MBA Journey

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

National Media Museum blog

We explore the science, technology and art of the still and moving image, and its impact on our lives.

digiphile

We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet.

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

the urban pastor

news, views and reviews from south London's finest suburb!

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

mbasupplicant

from point a to point mba

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

mbaloan

Loans and MBA...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school

