Grrrr, GMAT accommodations

I can safely say, applying for reasonable adjustment otherwise known as accommodations for the GMAT was the most stressful thing I have ever done. Yep, this even before I went ill with stress.

If you’re a regular test taker you can book a GMAT test inside of 20 minutes on the Internet. Just have your credit card handy.

But no, it took me three months!

So let me try to provide advice to all those test takers that need accommodations.

Accommodations
It takes time to organise, so you need to prepare ahead and realise you are going to need to put in a fair amount of work to prove you really need the accommodations.
First step is read and down load the guide you need.

I can speak in detail about my experience as a dyslexic person but here are some general tips that might help:

  1. Set aside substantial portion of time to get the papers organised. You can’t expect to get a GMAT date in 20 minutes. It took me three months.
  2. Learn how to use your nearest fax machine. They only accept documents by fax. Let me be clear. This is very expensive! If you can, try to find a free international fax service.
  3. Recognise they work to US law rather your own countries. So expectations may be different.
  4. Find every scrap of paper you have proving your disability and its impact on your ability to perform in test situations. I even used psychometric tests I sat when going for promotion to proof that my disability affects my ability to perform as expected on tests.
  5. Write a personal essay setting out the impact.
  6. Do phone or discuss your queries with GMAT accommodation team. They are very helpful and a resource to be used. though it’s a bit of work to get through the people who can help, it’s worth it.
  7. When booking the test, if times given don’t suit, ask if there is flexibility. They wanted me to  start the test at 7am, by asking I got it moved to 9:30am.

My experience 

What I found the most difficult  out of the whole process was organising the evidence to prove the impact my disability had on my ability to take tests. Proving I was dyslexic was not enough.

Step 1: proving you have a disability

I needed to have an up to date dyslexia assessment. These are expensive. If you hadn’t one in a while try to get work to pay for one to help identify what reasonable adjustments you need for work. Thankfully I needed to have one done a couple of years ago so I was fine.

Step 2: proving the impact of your disability on your ability to take tests
That was more difficult as I my exam results through school and uni were good. This is where the personal essay really helps. It helps you bring out what challenges you had at what stages and what reasonable adjustments you had in place at what time. To prove the impact my dyslexia has I provided my school exam results, my transcripts for both my degree and my master, results of my psychometric testing for promotion at work and even my annual appraisals.

Step 3: requesting the right accommodations

To add to the fun, British people don’t take standardised tests so I have not a clue what are reasonable accommodations for me on a test of this type. Nor have I been able to find a british based psychologist who has experience at advising on accommodations  for standardised tests. The accommodations I have got have been based on GMAT accommodation team advice and I now question whether I have right ones.  Though I’m thankful I have them. So learn from my experience, be clear what you need upfront and try to get the evidence to support it.

Resits
In comparison resits are easy. Fill out the form, fax  it, and should be sorted in a week.

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Grrrr, GMAT accommodations”

  1. Fran says :

    Hello and thank you for this post.i have had similar problems and in the end I gave up and I sat the test without the extra time. I’d really like to try again with the extra time though, would you be able to send me the details of the British based psychologist you used?

    • sarahrs81 says :

      Fran,

      I couldn’t find a psychologist in london who understands american standardised tests. The only document i used was my dsylexia assessment that was done to help my work assess what reasonable adjustments i needed.

  2. C says :

    Great read.. Can anyone point me in the direction of audiobooks to prepare for the GMAT??

    • sarahrs81 says :

      Audible has some gmat books. There also some pod casts with videos by khan academy that are good. My other suggestion would be gmat Manhattan online interactive tool. Used that when they trailed it and my IR score went from 2 to 7.

  3. Miguel Castro says :

    Hi. thanks for the post, is realy helpfull. could you tel me what kind of special accomodations they gave you as a dislexic ? i am dislexic as well and y would like to know if is worth the efford,
    thanks
    Miguel

    • sarahrs81 says :

      I got advice from GMAT accommodations themselves. They suggested 50% extra time and an additional break.

      If you need reasonable adjustments definitely worth the effort of getting.
      I also suggest looking at the GRE as well as its more dyslexic friendly and it’s much easier to get reasonable adjustments.
      In part decisions about what standardised test you do depend what business schools you want to apply for and what tests they accept.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog - December 13, 2013

Leave a Reply

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

Road To My MBA

The journey to a top mba school, from Brazil to the USA.

GNPTH

My GMAT/MBA Journey

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

National Media Museum blog

We explore the science, technology and art of the still and moving image, and its impact on our lives.

digiphile

We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet.

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

the urban pastor

news, views and reviews from south London's finest suburb!

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

mbasupplicant

from point a to point mba

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

mbaloan

Loans and MBA...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school

