GMAT take three: the score moved!

What a great start to Hogmanay. My GMAT score moved and it moved in the right direction.
I’m a proud owner of a 590 score. It’s above the GMAT average and now puts me in the GMAT score range of my target schools.

Integrated reasoning 6; 67 percentile.
Quant :32; 28 percentile
Verbal:38; 84 percentile.

Yep, my maths score is still rotten, but there is enough proof in other parts of my application That I can do advanced level maths. So I’m not too worried that I will get thrown on the reject pile for that reason alone. All depends now on whether schools really do look at your whole offer before making a decision, not just your GMAT score.

Yes, I’m tempted to do attempt number four but that will only be worthwhile if I can get the right accommodations. But my GMAT score is enough to have a crack at applying for round two.

Tags:

14 responses to “GMAT take three: the score moved!”

  1. Ellie says :

    Hey!! congratulations 🙂 It’s great to see that number move, right. Absolutely way to end the year on the high note.

  2. Ellie says :

    Almost wrapped up – Ross is due day after, Kelley by end of the week and the Kellogg. On to the interviews after that 🙂 Hope you have a big new year party to go blow off the steam later today!

  3. Lucas says :

    Congratulations! At this point, if you’re determined to apply in Round 2, I’d just forego trying to do another GMAT test, you’re not going to be able to find the time to do a fourth attempt before the Round 2 deadlines.

    “Hogmanay?” Are you perchance Scottish? 🙂

  4. domotron says :

    Congrats on the improvement on the GMAT!

  5. MBA Data Guru says :

    Congrats on raising your GMAT! I was lucky that I beat my target by 50 points the first go round. Then again I was studying off and on (mostly off) for 5 years.

  6. Tony says :

    Hi Sarah,

    First can I just say that this blog is awesome and has really encouraged me to keep plugging away. I am dyslexic however I only got diagnosed a few years ago as I grew up in a third world country and basically the concept didn’t / still doesn’t exist.

    Ever since I can remember my goal has been to go to a top business school and I have focused my energies and strategised workwise really on achieving that. I have above average academics from school up to Uni and good work experience from globally recognised institutions but my biggest problem/weakness always and continues to be quant (I barely managed a C at GCSE and haven’t touched the stuff since). I have managed to overcome other learning obstacles personally but this just won’t go away.

    I recently took my first GRE test (with accommodations thanks to your blog advice) after about 3/4 months of independent study (Manhattan Prep materials) and got a verbal score of 161 and a quant of 153. I intend retaking the test in a month or so after just focusing on quant, but I suspect I won’t ever be getting a 161 in quant, my score may dip or if it increases won’t probably exceed a 157 if I am lucky, so I am not sure if I should bother.

    Thus my questions to you are as follows, if you don’t mind: Is it really worth mentioning my particular idiosyncrasies to admissions reps (I am going to the QS MBA World Tour this weekend in London), what are their attitudes towards dyslexics really? In your opinion/experience are certain schools more disposed to dyslexics than others? Finally I take your point that these group events can be a bit unproductive because of the crowd (although there is a 1-2-1 section which I’ve applied for) what pertinent question aside from the obvious is one to really ask given this opportunity or alternatively what’s the best way to utilise the 1-2-1 or group session given that I can pretty much glean a lot of information off the internet (and I have).

    Ps. My schools of choice in order of preference are: Insead, Oxford, Cambridge, IESE and Harvard (I don’t really want to do the US but this would be too good to refuse).

    Thanks

    Tony

    • sarahrs81 says :

      Thanks for getting in touch. Really nice to hear about other peoples experience.

      Well done on your GRE score. First time round and you’ve done well. To get your score up for the maths; I would recommend a private tutor. Mine helped no end. Or even try the manhattan online prep. At this stage one to two changes might make a big difference.

      Yeah, my GMAT score showed a massive variation between verbal and quant. I managed it by firstly showing I could do maths. So would recommend highlighting any analytical work you’ve done in your essays and cv section. Gives the admission people confidence that you can handle the numbers in the course. Other options sitting a maths course or a quant based and doing well. Moocs might even be an option.

      As my overall GMAT score was poor; I directly referenced that I was dyslexic in my essay and I also done an optional one stating that GMAT score doesn’t show my true ability as I’m dyslexic.

      In terms of schools; I looked for schools first and foremost I wanted to go to and didn’t let my GMAT score impact on school choice. however I was realistic in my assessment of getting in. For my final short list I did look for schools that put more weight on other aspects of your application. Schools with larger intakes can take more variety of scores. Schools like duke care more about your offer to the community so it’s worthwhile to look at those aspects as well.

      European schools on the whole don’t take the Standardised test scores as seriously. Some EU schools run their own entrance exams which seem to be a lot more dyslexic friendly. For eu schools I would ask do they do their own entry exam.

      I not found any schools that aren’t dyslexia friendly. However in my opinion any school that drives there selection my standardised tests scores is by default not dyslexia friendly as we don’t do well on standardised tests.

      For the 1-2-1; get an understanding of the school culture and what they want to see in essays.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Applying for Cambridge MBA | sarah's mba journey - November 5, 2014

Leave a comment

Croyview

Travel writing, exploring the United Kingdom and further afield. With the odd extra book or theatre review

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares news about TED Talks and TED Conferences.

digiphile

"We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet."

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel Aktas

Professor at Cranfield University

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school