Not going to America

I Sat by the phone and waited; and then waited. Nothing. (In reality I spent the day freezing in Salem.) I Finally got an email but couldn’t even see the outcome of Duke’s decision until I got back to the hotel to use my computer.
Final outcome: didn’t get in.

I’m ok with that. In recent weeks I was was thinking how to balance working and paying off a £100,000 loan and in ideal world getting married and having kids. I just couldn’t think how it would work. Yes all my uni friends are laughing their socks off as I make that statement. if I went to an American uni I would 35 before I graduate. And I would want kids before I was 40. That’s Very limited time to pay off loan as I don’t think these loans allow you to take maternity payment holidays.

The other reason why I’m ok. After going to a HBS class I wasn’t in love with the experience. The girls hardly talked; and the class was really young. I want to learn from people who have a bit more work experience. A part time MBA might be a better fit.

So I won’t be reapplying next year. In its current format my American adventure is over. I’m very glad I tried. For me the journey is as important as the destination.

Upside my hockey team will be happy.

But the MBA dream lives on. Next step the part time MBA.

Tags:

8 responses to “Not going to America”

  1. domotron says :

    Sorry to hear about Fuqua. Best of luck on your part time MBA apps

  2. thirdworldgurl says :

    Hi Sarah! I just came across your blog. It’s funny that now that I’m done with this agonizing and lonely application process, I’m now finding all these blogs that could have been so helpful. Sorry about not coming to America, perhaps you could look into INSEAD? They have a one-year program and their classes tend to be older and more experienced then the US classes. Best of luck in the future!

    • sarahrs81 says :

      thanks. Love the INSEAD programme; however as a monologist their language requirements are a big stumbling block. Where did you get into?

      • thirdworldgurl says :

        I got into Cornell and Dartmouth and I’m still on the waitlist at Columbia. Applying to 6 schools has its advantages I guess, so long as you don’t lose your sanity along the way. Language requirements for INSEAD are a bummer

  3. Ellie says :

    Sarah…sorry to hear that. Hope this experience gives you a lot of fodder to ace the PT MBA apps, especially given your work ex. good luck!

  4. Lucas says :

    Sorry to hear that. All the best with the PT MBA applications.

    Interesting comment on the HBS class. In the one I attended way back in 2013, the women spoke up in class as much as the men did, and were very forceful in defending their positions.

Leave a comment

Croyview

Travel writing, exploring the United Kingdom and further afield. With the odd extra book or theatre review

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares news about TED Talks and TED Conferences.

digiphile

"We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet."

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel Aktas

Professor at Cranfield University

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school