How friendly is your business school part three: the results

Here we go, my ranking on how friendly is your business school, based on three schools: Harvard, Duke, Darden.  I chose these three schools as they are on my application short list and I wanted to find out a little bit more about them.

I assumed that Harvard would be the least friendly as they are meant to be a cut-throat competitive bunch. While  Darden would be ranked as the most friendly due to the emphasis on community and helping each other out.  However my results surprised me.

Method

To perform my non-representative survey I emailed a variety of student clubs to get a better idea of the school: Women’s association, European club, Christian Fellowship and a professional club I would be interested in joining.  If I got a favourable response I sent another email with my standard questions outlined or took up the offer of a chat through Skype or Google hangouts.

My results

From the responses  I received I have come up with the following ranking:

  1. Harvard most friendly
  2.  Duke
  3.  Darden-icy.

I was quite surprised at my ranking, not as expected.

Why?
I assumed as Harvard was super competitive I would struggle to get traction. But it turned out to be the opposite. Everyone I emailed was willing to take the time to email and talk on Skype. The answers were honest and the conversation frank. I have now got a real good feel for the school and what it offers and the upsides and downsides of studying at Harvard.

I am quite disappointed in Darden. Not many people got back to me and answers were general poor and what I could have got from the website. The student ambassador I emailed was the only exception. His answers were detailed and provided a good level of insight to the school. It’s got to the stage I wish I had saved copies of my emails, just to prove to myself that I’ve sent them. Surely that could be the only reason for the poor response? In fact my feelings are so poor towards Darden that if I had more time I would seek an alternative school to be my third choice. And I am asking myself the question, if you got in, would you want to go there? But I’ve bucked up my ideas, there is nothing else for it apart from sending another bunch of emails.

While my level of contact with Duke has been less than Harvard, it has been really easy to set up and talk to people. It was a bit easier for me to get traction as I have good contact with an admissions person. As a result it was really easy to set up and meet an alumni living locally. He was able to provide some good context and got me to consider some of the wider aspects that you may need to consider when applying to business school. The chat I had with a current student was also really easy to organise and helpful. Overall it a  place I think I would be happy to attend.

Questions

So how do my findings compare with your experiences/thoughts of the schools in question?

Can anyone provide a more balanced view of Darden or the other schools?

how would you rank your short-listed schools in terms of friendliness?

P.S, yes I said I wouldn’t do it, mainly as I was scared at putting my thoughts on paper.  When I told my friend that he raised an eyebrow, so here we are.

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog - November 22, 2013

Leave a comment

Croyview

Travel writing, exploring the United Kingdom and further afield. With the odd extra book or theatre review

The Miniclick Photo Talks

Talks, discussions, events, exhibitions, parties and games, all around still and moving images.

desperatelyseekingcymbeline

The 10-year Shakespeare New Year Resolution

blackgirlmbaoncampus

The journey towards the MBA Goal

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares news about TED Talks and TED Conferences.

digiphile

"We're already living in the future. It's just not evenly distrbuted yet."

The Baseline Scenario

What happened to the global economy and what we can do about it

texaswannabecali

MBA bound... Join my journey

Emel Aktas

Professor at Cranfield University

A Digital Mentor

Sharing insights, connecting opportunities

the Free MBA

a journey detailing my do-it-yourself MBA

From Dubai to Durham

MBA Adventures at Duke Fuqua

Reaching the Thirties

My MBA story at Fuqua

www.colettesymanowitz.com

Perspectives on entrepreneurship, MBA-related issues, networking, personal branding, technology, investing, education and more...

The adventures of a MBA student

The blunderings of a n00b through the MBA admissions process

Blogging for a Good Book

A suggestion a day from the Williamsburg Regional Library

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

MBA the nonprofit way

MBA + nonprofit work = ??

Girl Meets B-School

Non-traditional MBA doin' it for herself

bschool admit

The will to succeed is important, but what's more important is the will to prepare. - Bobby Knight

expectingmbamilf

A journey to getting an MBA, relocating overseas, raising a family and enjoying the ride

Apprentice Alf’s Blog

Everything you ever wanted to know about DRM and ebooks, but were afraid to ask.

Coffee Beans And Tea Leaves

A little bit of this and a bit of that

We seem to have acquired a caravan

A six week European Odyssey with the Perkins

Road to the MBA Class of 2014

from the eyes of an entrepreneur

HBS Times

The latest news from inside the walls of Harvard Business School

backinthebay2015

the story of a Stanford GSB student

CROSS-SHAPED STUFF

i want to see more stuff shaped like a cross

Fiction and the Reading Public

Give me a thrill, says the reader, Give me a kick; I don't care how you succeed, or What subject you pick.

Cake, biscuits and maybe casseroles too...

I'm trying out new recipes and writing about them

MBA Over 30.com

Get Into a Top Business School After 30 (or at any age)

sarah's mba journey

outlining my journey to applying to business school